Posted by: Patty | August 23, 2013

Hoosier Mama’s Dutch Apple Pie

There is one more pie cookbook on the market: The Hoosier Mama Book of Pie. I am waiting for Amazon to deliver my copy but in the meantime some bloggers have already posted their results cooking from this book. I followed directions for the Dutch Apple pie and was so impressed.

20130823-104718.jpg

You blind bake a crust, fill it with diced apples, pour on a sour cream custard, bake, then cover it with streusel and bake some more. The flavor is fantastic. I did use heirloom apples from Elderberry Farm, an organic farm in upstate NY.

20130823-105221.jpg

20130823-105251.jpg
I am at my cottage on Owasco Lake and my pie baking equipment is very limited, instead of pie weights I used change to blind bake the crust. Whatever works!

20130823-105429.jpg

20130823-105449.jpg
The crust recipe is different from my favorite, there is more butter and a small amount of red wine vinegar is added to the water. I had white wine vinegar so that’s what I used. The crust was very easy to roll.
And although the process was more complicated than most pies the results were fantastic.

20130823-105737.jpg
Everyone knows I have way too many cookbooks but I am excited to add this book to my collection.
Pie is a favorite dessert for my family and I will happily cook from this book.

Leave a Reply

Categories

