Posted by: Patty | August 23, 2012

Small Batch Plum Jam

The canning blog “Food in Jars” recently issued a challenge to try small batch jam making. I have a plum jam recipe from my grandmother Mary Roth that uses 4 pounds of Italian plums. It makes way too much jam for my little family, especially because I have made so many other flavors of jam this summer. I simply followed the guidelines from “Food in Jars” and had great success. You can find Marisa’s method here. Marisa also has a new cookbook, I bought the Kindle version and have had fun trying her recipes. In particular, the rhubarb jelly is yummy and makes a great glaze for fruit tarts.

Here are the ingredients I used:

3 cups pitted and diced Italian plums

1/4 cup very thinly sliced lemon

1/4 cup very thinly sliced orange

1/4 cup currants

1 1/2 cups sugar

I added the sugar to the fruit (excluding the currants) and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator. The next morning I prepped 2 Ball canning jars by sterilizing them. I cooked the jam for about 15 minutes in a 12″ saute pan, then added the currants and continued cooking for about 5 minutes.

The jam  thickened, I ladled it into the hot jars and processed them in a water bath for 10 minutes. Voila: 2 jars of one of my favorite jams, finished in about an hour. What a great approach to jam!

By the way, Italian plums can only be found at the end of August and early September. They aren’t very tasty eaten raw but cook with them and the flavor is delicious. Try to find them at your local farmers market.

Enjoy, Patty

Responses

  1. […] Plum Conserve recipe was given to me by Patricia over at Birding Blossoms & Baking https://birdingbaker.wordpress.com/2012/08/23/small-batch-plum-jam/ It  sounds strange, but tastes amazing. The flavors almost remind me of a […]

  2. I hadn’t thought of using lemon and orange with them. We get 40+ pounds every year from a friend and I’m always looking for new ideas. Sounds amazing.

  3. Nice! I am loving cooked plums this summer. No prune plums here yet, but I am hoping soon.

    • This jam was so easy, if you like plums you should try it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

