Posted by: Patty | July 31, 2012

TWD: Baking with Julia Child, Blueberry Peach Pie

July has not been a great month for baking. We had a power failure that lasted 6 long days, during a heat wave here in DC. And I traveled to my little cottage in upstate NY where I did manage to make Blueberry Boy Bait from the Smitten Kitchen blog. But this is my only Tuesdays with Dorie post for this month.

The pie crust is a big batch recipe, yielding 4 crusts. I was very tempted to use my own crust because it always is delicious. Baker Leslie Mackie’s recipe is very different: she uses 20 Tablespoons of fats to 2 1/2 cups of flour. Mine uses 15 Tablespoons of fat to 3 cups of flour. I was hoping that the new recipe would result in an extra flaky crust. The crust was actually more crumbly than flaky. So I will continue to use my recipe, which is based on my grandmother’s:

The filling is precooked which helped with thickening the juices. The pie was very tasty, especially for breakfast today.

Our hosts are Hillary and Liz and you can find the full recipe at their blogs.

Yum!

Responses

  1. That is one beautiful pie! Love the decoration.

  2. What a great pie you made: the decorations are gorgeous!

    • Thank you.

  3. Gorgeous decoration! I love the way your pie looks. We enjoyed the crust, but still prefer my mother’s version (which is based on her mother’s).

    • Our mothers knew what they were doing with pie!

  4. Like how you decorated your pie…

    Is your grandmama’s recipe on your blog or is it top secret…will understand if it’s not for the masses.

    Carmen

    • Carmen, when I teach pie making classes at Williams Sonoma I include my family recipe, so it is not top secret. I’ll post it here in the near future.


Leave a Reply

Categories

