Posted by: Patty | December 3, 2010

Patty’s 60th birthday

Many excuses are available to explain my lack of postings to this web site. Truthfully, I have just been lazy.

But today is my 60th birthday and I’m going to try to become a better person. (Finally) More postings are in order and that will help me keep in touch with all my friends.

My birthday celebrations began on the Wednesday night before Thanksgiving. I arrived home after a long day at work and my family had prepared a surprise. Hawaiian shirts were given to everyone and a lovely rum punch was served.

We then went to Mango Mikes, a beach themed restaurant in Alexandria, VA.

This restaurant is unbelievable. There are palm trees and fish tanks and lots of tropical decorations. And, great cocktails:

The food was wonderful, but who could really taste anything after all the cocktails?

We had a great time together and I could almost forget my birthday request: to spend time on a beach. There wasn’t any sand but my family made the dreaded birthday a fun event.

Here’s the recipe for the evening’s cocktail:

CORNELL LAW BREW

8 ounces fresh orange juice

4 ounces Meyers Dark Rum

2 dashes grenadine

2 tsp. sugar

1 splash triple sec

Shake together and serve over ice.

Cheers, Patty

Responses

  1. Patty;
    I’m so sorry for the late response and for not sending you a birthday card. This month we were bombarded by so many emergency projects, in the office, home and condos. They certainly impacted our 34th anniversary and Erich’s birthday. In the up mode, we’re soooo happy to know that you had a nice birthday. Looking at the pictures showing you and your immediate family were delightful and thank you for sharing them with us. A belated Happy Birthday!!!!
    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. It’s been so long since we’ve seen one another. We’d love to see you guys! Currently our house is under renovation and it looks like a construction site not suitable for a party; otherwise, I would have invited you guys. However, we could get together in a restaurant not too far from you; or, if it works with your schedules we can all meet at an Art Event that is happening in the Phillips Collections on Thursday, January 6th, 2011 at 1600 21st, Washington DC. Very close to DuPont Circle Metro station, Q St./North exit. You won’t even have to pay the $10 entry free; because, as a member, we can have you as our guests to entry for free. If you like, you can get more information on the “After Five” Event at the Phillips Collects from their website at: http://www.phillipscollection.org/. I’ll send an e-mail with this information to Trudy in the hope that she can join us as well.
    Looking forward to seeing you.
    Thanks
    Fahti
    //////////////////////////////////

  2. Happy Birthday Patty! Great party. Sorry for not responding sooner.

  3. Hi Patty,

    It has taken me this long to get caught up on my emails. Happy Birthday and you know I would have loved to be in DC with you, having cocktails on the water. You don’t look a day over 29! May your 60’s bring you good health and happiness. Love, Priscilla

  4. Happy Birthday Patty! What a lovely “beach” party. You look wonderful and happy to be 60! We miss you. I hope you will come an visit in freezing Chicago.
    All the best,

    Maha

  5. Sixty looks great on you, Patty! What a special year this has been for you – Cheers!

  6. Sounds like you had a fantastically beachy birthday celebration! Welcome to the 60+ crowd!!! Missed you at yoga this week and hope to see you next week! A Belated HB!!!

    • I’ll see you at yoga on Tuesday.

  7. Happy Birthday Party! Wish we lived closer so we could continue the celebrations.
    I’m so happy you’re getting back to your blog – my personal favorite.
    Love to you (and Tom and kids) always,
    Jennifer

    • Give my best to everyone in Kenilworth. Love to all.

  8. Happy Birthday, Sweet Patty!
    I wonder if you remembered your birthday the morning after your beach party. You remind me of the cast of Gilligan’s Island – happy and a bit dazed. But what a show (party)!
    Happy Birthday, again! You make 60 look wonderful!

    • 60 isn’t too bad, at least when you wear Hawaiian prints.

  9. Happy birthday Patty! Sorry I didn’t get a card in the mail. We packed up and left Florida last Saturday and arrived in Galena tonight after stops in Disney World (Cara), Arkansas (Bill’s Dad), and leave for CA Sunday with Matt to see Bill’s Mom.
    The 60’s really haven’t been bad but, now that I’m sliding toward 70, it’s getting a little more worrisome.
    Fondly,
    Dianne

    • Hi Dianne, enjoy Galena. I wish we were shopping together in all the fun shops. Maybe next year.

  10. Happy Birthday! Looks like a wonderful celebration! Cheers!

    • Julie, you have been such a good baker this past year. I hope to participate more this coming year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

