Posted by: Patty | June 14, 2010

Sweet Melissa Sunday: Macaroons!

Here in DC there is a bakery, Firehook, that sells awesome macaroons. Well, if you want to start a bakery in the Washington, DC area, this recipe from Sweet Melissa is the place to start because you really could compete with Firehook with these cookies. You can find the recipe at Blue Tree Green Heart. Thanks Ellen!

I did change the recipe and method  a little bit.

First, I used the new chocolate chunks from Williams-Sonoma just because they were in my pantry and it was easier than chopping chocolate. I also added about 3 Tablespoons agave nectar to the batter; some bakers mentioned the macaroons were dry and I assumed the nectar would help keep the cookies moist.

The batter is super easy to mix. Add the orange zest to the coconut, add sugar and blend with your hands. Add the egg whites and continue to blend with your hands. then add the chocolate.

Using a medium ice cream scoop, place the batter on silpat lined cookie sheets. I had exactly 24 cookies, 12 per cookie sheet.

Now, bake for 25 to 30 minutes at 325 degrees. When they come out of the oven, let the cookies cool on the silpat. They will firm up and develop crisp edges.

YUM!!

Once the cookies are completely cool you can serve them! I really liked the big chunks of chocolate in the cookies.

I will let you know if they freeze well. I absolutely need to banish these from my sight or I will devour them all. To the freezer right now! Or, I’ll take them to work!

Responses

  1. mmmmm… They look delish 🙂

  2. I often take my goodies into work too. Luckily my little brother and his roomies claimed these as they were very good. Yours look great!

  3. I froze mine as well. I like the idea of agave nectar addition, as I’m sure it helped with ball formation.

    I’m in the DC area in July and will have to check out Firehook.

  4. Yum!!! Yours look good! I ended up taking a bunch to work, too. I would have eaten the whole batch otherwise!

  5. Great changes – sounds like they worked out well for you! Your macaroons are lovely 🙂 I always work under the assumption that most everything freezes well, until I discover otherwise.

  6. Your macaroons look wonderful! I took mine to work. Even had a couple of requests for the recipe!

    • great to hear from you! I have been following weight watchers very carefully and baking very little. But these sounded too good to ignore. And I was very happy with the results. I also made the pistachio cookies and although they tasted fine, they were really ugly! Hope all is well with you, Cheers, Patty

  7. Your cookies look very tasty! I love a cookie with a little bit of color and crisp on the bottom. I would have like slightly large pieces of chocolate in my cookie.

  8. I envy you your freezer being filled with such treats. A frozen macaroon or two in the afternoon might help make a hot summer day more survivable.

    • Hopefully I won’t eat them all in one afternoon!

  9. They look great! Good way to spend an afternoon!

    • Its time for Tom to come home – too much baking and I’ll be in trouble at WW!


Leave a Reply

Categories

