Posted by: Patty | January 11, 2010

SWEET MELISSA SUNDAY – chocolate pie crust

Its Sunday and time to resume baking along with the Sweet Melissa Sunday group. This week offered a creative outlet: everyone made the same chocolate pie crust but used their own fillings. I thought I had a “slam-dunk” for the filling but a sloppy approach resulted in a less than perfect pie.

I din’t measure my tart pan and I grabbed a too large pan for the amount of filling. The crust was easy to make:

Using a pastry blender is the easiest way to make a pie crust.

After chilling the dough I rolled it out and baked it blind for 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

Once it is baked you paint the inside with raspberry jam:

And then add fresh raspberries:

Yum! Chocolate and raspberries! A filling of marscapone, sugar, walnuts, eggs and a tiny amount of flour are blended in a food processor, then this mixture is poured over the raspberries and baked.

The pan was too big; the berries should be covered by the filling. It still tasted ok, but it is much better when the filling is deeper. The recipe calls for a 10″ tart pan, I used an 11″ pan and just that small increase spread the pie out too much. The pie tasted good but it wasn’t the result I wanted. Using great ingredients helped save the dessert:

The recipe for the chocolate pie crust is posted at Donna’s great blog: L’Amour de la Tarte, just click here. Donna, thanks for hosting this week!

Here’s my recipe for Raspberry Walnut Tart:

1  10″  tart shell, baked blind for 15 minutes (use chocolate crust or your favorite pie dough for 1 crust)

Custard filling:

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 Tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 ounces marscapone
  • 1/2 cup ground walnuts
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon flour

1 pint fresh raspberries, 1/4 cup raspberry jam

After baking the crust, spread the jam inside the shell. Place raspberries evenly on top of the jam.

Blend the filling in a food processor for one minute. Pour over the raspberries and bake the tart at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Baking is less forgiving than most cooking. A small difference in pan size can make or break the results. Go ahead and try this filling. Just be sure you are using a 10″ tart pan!

Cheers to all, Patty


Responses

  1. Patty,

    Great looking pie crust!

    Your hosting date is actually 3/28/10 — let’s save the Pavlova for then!

  2. Great choice for the filling this week! Those raspberries are gorgeous. I was disappointed by the pie crust but it was fun to make anyway.

  3. You are so right about chocolate and raspberries! Tart looks great. Love your snow pictures. You are in DC? We used to live in Fairfax. Outside of Richmond, VA now.

  4. Hi,

    Your turn to pick is coming up….. please let me know what your suggestion is.
    If you’re not going to participate, please let me know as well so I can set something up.

    Thanks so much!

    Please send an email to:
    sweetmelissasunday(at)gmail(dot)com

    • I’d love to bake the pavlova on page 187. Let me know, Cheers, Patty

  5. Patty – Beautiful pie! I love the flavor combinations.

    Beautiful photos, the flower reminds me of Spring. Come on Spring! 🙂

  6. hmm this looks very good! Thanks for sharing the beautiful raspberry creation you made. Perhaps, I’ll need to make this for my friend who LOVES raspberries!

  7. I am making “your” chocolate and raspberry pie variation for my kitchen bridge girls. They will ooh and aah and ooh a bit more. Thank you for posting the photos that accompany the recipe du week.
    The furnace was working for 2 days now it’s quiet again. Only 24 more hours of cold weather then the frost cloth comes off a few valued plants and I lose my wool hat (that I’ve been wearing indoors).

    • Laura, I love your hopeful outlook on life! Keep warm, Patty


Leave a Reply

Categories

