Posted by: Patty | December 30, 2009

Beautiful snow…turns into:

Beautiful snow brings wonderful birds to my backyard feeders; the list includes many woodpeckers including the downy, hairy, red bellied, yellow breasted sapsucker, and pileated woodpeckers. They love the suet but also feed on the tube feeders. I fill my feeders with patio mix seed which doesn’t create a mess below the feeder but also includes many different seeds that attract all types of birds.

Maybe my favorite bird is one that does not visit the feeders:

This hermit thrush likes to feed on my front porch where there is a protected corner from the snow. A lovely bird!

On Christmas Eve afternoon we chose to visit Great Falls Park instead of shopping at the mall. The snow covered landscape was beautiful.

The most amazing people in the park were the kayakers!!

Imagine running the Potomac in December! They were having a great time.

My daughter and husband were happy to view the river from the platform overlooking the water.

On Christmas day we made cookies. Our family would be gathering on the 26th and we were preparing everything for the family celebration.

On the 26th, when we were planning to celebrate Christmas with the rest of our family I discovered what happens to snow:

OH NO!! The basement is flooded!(*#*#*#)

And worse:

That’s the rug my mother had in her living room for years! Under several inches of water!! On the 26th, before we were planning a quick trip to the grocery store I went to the basement to start a load of laundry. And discovered a disaster. The pretty snow had melted, the ground water swelled and filled my basement with 3 – 4 inches of water. Fortunately, it was clean water, not sewer!!

One more wet shot:

Despite the flood we had a wonderful Christmas with our family.

I even perfected a recipe for a Christmas cookie that has been difficult to bake with reliable results. So, soon I’ll post the new recipe for Sand Tarts, a great Christmas cookie. You could use it for great cut-out in hearts for Valentine’s Day.

I hope everyone had wonderful holidays with their families. Even with the water mess in my basement, I had a great time with my family. With a basement full of water, we still decorated cookies!!

Have a wonderful New Year!! I look forward to cooking with everyone this coming year!! Cheers, Patty


Responses

  1. And might I add, the BEST cookies ever!!!

  2. You are so amazing. In spite of the flood, you seem to still have a smile on your face. We had 28 for Christmas Eve dinner, but no way would I have been making cookies on the day they were all coming! I will look forward to your recipe. Fool proof has to be the level for me. Very Happy New Year, Patty. Thank you for this lovely new letter.

  3. I am so sorry about the water in your basement. I’ve been there and I never want to go back.

    We just got back from our drive to Chicago. Snow, ice and wind made Illinois a very dangerous state yesterday. RVs and trailers were in ditches and fields up and down I-57.

  4. Patty: So sorry to hear about your basement flood! Your cookies are beautiful. I will look forward to seeing the recipe.

    Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

