Posted by: Patty | November 22, 2009

Sweet Melissa Sundays, The Waffle Recipe

Each Sunday the Sweet Melissa Sundays blogging group bakes the same recipe from the “Sweet Melissa Baking Book”. This week’s choice is the raised waffles with a banana fosters topping. Our host blogger is Lauren at Fried Pickles and Ice Cream. The complete recipe is available at Lauren’s site. I must add that she was a real sport this week: she is expecting and baked goods no longer appeal! Thanks, Lauren for baking anyways!

The recipe is based on a classic from The Fanny Farmer Cookbook and I did make these many years ago. It was fun to redo the recipe. The results are light and airy and crisp. A winning combination for waffles.

You start with a very thin batter that includes yeast. The batter sits overnight and then some eggs and baking soda are added. All the ingredients are easily found.

Before baking you assemble a great topping that includes rum and bananas. Well, I dislike bananas so I added some fresh pears and they were wonderful. Also, the rum was a gift and it is lovely stuff!

I used my All Clad round waffle maker and it produced yummy, crisp waffles. I hate when waffles are soft and doughy; these were just right.

I started the batter before I went to work and baked them for dinner. Anytime would be right for these waffles. You could start Thanksgiving morning with these, hopefully no one would need anything until dinner!

Happy baking, Patty

Responses

  1. Your waffles look great! I couldn’t make this last week as I have no waffle iron. Maybe Santa will change that for me. 🙂

  2. Made me crave waffles, haha! Glad I found your blog, Patty, great entry.

    • Thanks!
      Enjoy the next posts.

  3. Your waffles look great… now you have me googling the AllClad Waffle Iron!

  4. Your waffles look terrific! These would be a fun breakfast at dinner, good idea!

  5. wow. These look super nice! Pears sound like a super great sub for this!

  6. Your waffles look beautiful! Mine were soft, as you mention I don’t like that either. I have to get a new waffle iron.

    Gave the old one to my step daughter today, so now I have to get a new one!

    • I finally upgraded my waffle iron to the All Clad round. Its not the thick waffles that are so popular now. I like a thin waffle.The best part of the recipe was the crispy result. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

