Posted by: Patty | October 23, 2009

A Fast Dinner: Spanish Tortilla

Recently a friend asked if the frittata pan from my store (Williams-Sonoma) would make a good Spanish Tortilla. Having made many frittatas in my own pan I decided to try the tortilla.

It was a great success!

IMG_0608

The tortilla puffed up a little and the egg was well distributed throughout. If you haven’t made one of these you are in for a treat. It’s a super fast dinner. You need eggs, potatoes, onion, and olive oil. The potatoes are sliced very thin and cooked in olive oil until tender. Halfway through cooking the potatoes you add some chopped onion, as much as you like. I used one large shallot.

IMG_0592

After the potatoes are tender you remove them to a bowl and let them cool for a few minutes. Then beat some eggs ( I used 4 large eggs) and stir the eggs into the potatoes.

IMG_0597

Return to the pan and begin to cook slowly, lifting the potatoes with a spatula so the egg runs between the slices. When the  bottom begins to brown you place the second part of the frittata pan set on top, flip the pans and continue to cook the second side until done. The flip is really easy but be sure you use heat proof mitts!!

IMG_0602

The basic recipe for the small 8″ pan is: 2 potatoes, 1/2 small onion chopped,  2-3 Tbs. olive oil, and a little salt and pepper. And these pans go into the dishwasher!

IMG_0611

I will mention that although I work for Williams-Sonoma I don’t receive any compensation for comments on this blog; I don’t even link to their web site.

But these frittata pans work very well for a fast dinner that everyone will enjoy. Have a great day, Patty

Responses

  1. Patty,
    Thanks for remembering our conversation. I love the Potato Espana. I also add grated manchego cheese to mine. Shall definitely buy the fritatta pans from WS.
    Dianne

  2. Hi Patty! You definitely should check out Bakerella, she’s at:

    http://www.bakerella.com/

  3. Perfect for a chilly (not chili) night. I have an old Guardian Ware frittata pan that I will dig out and follow your lead. Mike and I enjoy eggs any hour of the day or night.

  4. This looks so good! I wish my husband would eat eggs for dinner. To him, eggs are only for breakfast!

    • Julie, don’t mention eggs. Just serve the tortilla with a little salsa and see what happens!

  5. Looks great! You won’t need to go to Jaleo anymore!

    • I’ll never give up Jaleo!! It’s the best tapas in DC!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

