Posted by: Patty | October 18, 2009

SWEET MELISSA SUNDAY Spiced Pumpkin Cookie Cakes

How do you politely say “this recipe didn’t work”?  My sister was an official taster and her descriptions included words like ‘damp’, ‘disappointing” and ‘not very tasty’. The batter was similar to a cake batter and tasted pretty good.

IMG_2024

I used a medium sized ice cream scoop to shape the cookies. But after baking the cookies seemed to absorb moisture and they became rather floppy.

IMG_2025

I made the icing and completed the cookies but although they looked nice, they were very dense and damp in texture.

IMG_2028

It has been raining all day and night here in DC, maybe the humidity affected these. I hope everyone else had more success than I did! At least we won’t need to worry about too many calories tonight!!

Responses

  1. I’m sorry these went south for you. Maybe you can figure out what went wrong and up the spices. try, try again!

  2. So sorry these didn’t work out for you! They were a big hit in our house. They were kind of moist but I think that is what I liked about them. I’m not normally a fan of cake like cookies, but I just loved the flavor of these.

  3. Mine were quite moist too but I really enjoyed the flavor, so I was willing to overlook it 🙂 Sorry these didn’t work out for you, that can definitely be frustrating!

  4. I think a lot of the cookies turned out this way. A lot like a whoopie cookie. Sorry you didn’t enjoy them and maybe the next recipe will totally make up for this one. BTW, your cookies did turn out beautifully in the picture =)

  5. Sorry they didn’t work out so well for you, they look great! It’s humid where I am in California, too, and I felt like mine also quite moist.

  6. Sorry they didn’t work..maybe you should have baked them longer..just a thought! They sure look great!

  7. I’m sorry that these didn’t work out very well. I always hate it when I put for the effort, and then a recipe flops without a really good reason. They look wonderful, if that’s any consolation.

  8. I love these! They were so tasty. Mine were pretty dense too but I enjoyed that 🙂

    Katie xox

  9. Too bad they didn’t work for you. I made a 1/2 recipe and kept the full-recipe spices and I thought they were tasty.

  10. I made these into cupcakes and they were good =]


Leave a Reply

Categories

