Posted by: Patty | October 12, 2009

SWEET MELISSA SUNDAY Sticky Buns

For 20 years sticky buns have been a tradition for our family’s Christmas morning brunch. The first recipe that I used was from the Stars Desserts Cookbook by Emily Luchetti. The dough was brioche! and the result was a heavenly roll. As usual I tried to improve the rolls( and reduce the butter!)  and eventually settled on a recipe that was featured on Martha Stewart, Peter’s pecan rolls. These use less butter than the Stars recipe and have been the standard for our brunch. So, when I tested this week’s recipe, Sticky Buns with Toasted Almonds, I was bringing lots of experience to the subject of sticky buns.

After tasting the SMS recipe, all I can say is WOW!! The flavor is exceptional. The dough includes freshly grated orange peel and unless you know it’s in there, it brings a bright flavor that you can’t quite ID. Everyone at work loved these. My only complaint is the rolls do not keep well. You should serve them the day they are baked. After one taste, there should be no problem with leftovers!

The dough is quickly made with ordinary ingredients:

IMG_1934Using a KitchenAid makes the dough a breeze to make:

IMG_1935I used my Bosch oven’s proofing setting and put the dough in the oven for 1 hour. Other bakers had trouble with the dough rising but the proofing cycle really worked:

IMG_1936One hour later:IMG_1937Very successful! And the dough was easy to roll:

IMG_1938One big difference with this recipe:  instead of smearing softened butter onto the dough and then sprinkling with cinnamon sugar, this recipe calls for an egg wash on the dough, followed by the sugar mixture. I wasn’t sure about this but I followed  the recipe.

After the rolls were sliced I put them into the baking pan, which was coated with the sticky sauce. The sauce includes 1/2 cup pure maple syrup so you know it will be yummy! After an hour in the pan the rolls had started to puff up. I was going to chill them and bake the following morning but my husband looked at them and said “bake them now!”

IMG_1941

The finished rolls are tender with a good balance of roll to filling to sauce. And the egg wash with the sugar mixture tastes wonderful. These are worth making. One change I made: I substituted toasted pecans for the almonds.

IMG_1943

Thanks to Jen of Not Microwave Safe for hosting this week’s selection from Sweet Melissa’s Bakery. You will find the whole recipe at her site.

Happy baking!!, Patty

Responses

  1. Hi Patty!

    My name is Joy (of the baking blog, “Hot Oven, Warm Heart”) and I am a fellow member of SMS. I just wanted to stop by and introduce myself- hopefully, we will have the chance to get to know each other better during upcoming weeks of simultaneous baking and blogging adventures!

    Fabulous job on your sticky buns… they look simply scrumptious! I’m glad they stacked up to your old standby recipe- I just paused to wonder how many buns you’ve made over the past 20 years? You should consider yourself a true expert and bun baking aficionado 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well, and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a wonderful rest of your week!

    <3,
    Joy
    http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

  2. My parents’ neighbors bring sticky buns over every Christmas morning! This will be our first Christmas on our own (traveling with kids at Christmas is the pits!), and we’re trying to decide which traditions to keep. I’m happy to say that sticky buns might just make it!

  3. Your rolls look perfect, nice job proofing in the oven! Thanks again for your suggestion of calling the KA customer service, I am so happy I didn’t have to live without my mixer for even a short time.

  4. Glad you liked them. They look YUM!

    • Thanks! They are definitely a recipe that everyone should try.

  5. wow! my dough didn’t rise THAT much!! maybe that’s why my dough turned out tough as nails. live and learn. yours look fantastic though!

  6. Your sticky buns looks wonderful! I used pecans as well- I was afraid my husband wouldn’t like the almonds.

  7. wow they look really good.
    I agree, the zest kind of does give it flavor that is quite distinctly different..but in a good way!

  8. I remember coming to your house one Christmas morning for rolls and whiskey sours. That day is a blurrrrr.

    • We still make those whiskey sours for Christmas!

  9. I loved these sticky buns, glad to see you did too!

  10. I would say bring some with you, but I am going to take your word they are best eaten right out of the pan and therefore save you the trouble.
    Your oven is so clean! My oven hasn’t had that kind of a shine in a long time. I am impressed.
    Susan

  11. Your sticky buns look delicious. They were so good, weren’t they? I used lemon zest instead of ornage and you can taste the lemon. It’s a nice refreshing flavor.

  12. They look wonderful! Good post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

