Posted by: Patty | October 4, 2009

Sweet Melissa Sundays: Apple Crisp

On Thursday I visited the newest farmers market in Washington DC, right by the White House. In fact Michelle Obama was instrumental in opening this new market at Vermont NW and H Street. It offers diverse selections: from organic milk to all sorts of fruits and veggies, buffalo meat, baked goods, and hand spun & dyed yarns. And, of course there were fantastic apples. This week’s selection from the “Sweet Melissa Baking Book” is Apple Orchard Pecan Crumble and it calls for a combination of at least 4 different types of apples. Well, this new farmers market came through:

IMG_1839My selection included Jonathan, Empire, Rome and MacIntosh. But I was also shopping for great vegetables:

IMG_1841It is absolutely necessary to consume lots of vegetables if you are cooking from a dessert cookbook once a week!

The recipe is so simple. Even making the crisp topping is easy. You melt the butter and then combine it with the rest of the topping ingredients. The apples are sliced, mixed with sugar and some spice, piled in the pan and covered with the crisp mixture. Easy!!

I selected my newest baking dish:

IMG_1849This dish is from a potter, Jan Fairhurst. I discovered Jan at an antique show in the Finger Lakes region of upstate NY this past summer and  her work can be found on Etsy. The dish is remarkably light, not heavy like many ceramic pieces. And apple crisp looks delicious in the pale green pan.

IMG_1855

You can find the recipe at Cooking with Christine. Thanks Christine, for picking the perfect recipe for the start of autumn. Everyone should head to the local markets and find some freshly picked apples and make this dessert. Your house will smell sooo good!

Just a note, I hope these links work! My computer skills are improving but may still need some work!

Responses

  1. Apple crisp brings back wonderful memories of my childhood autumns in New England and my grandmother who made amazing apple crisp. This recipe looks wonderful (and your photos are lovely, as always). I can’t wait to give it a try!

  2. Looks great! Links all work!

  3. ooooh looks great!!!

  4. I love your produce pictures, Farmer’s Markets are so much fun and it sounds like you have a really good one in your area. The crumble looks great too, especially in that lovely dish.

  5. Oh, you’re making me nostalgic! I lived in DC for a while and we used to love to go to the farmer’s market in Eastern Market. I’ll have to check this one out next time I go down. And I definitely agree people should support local farming.
    You’re apple crisp looks delicious and I love the dish! I’ve been looking for something similar and I love the fact that yours isn’t very heavy. I’ll have to check it out on Etsy.

  6. Farmer’s markets are huge where I live too and supporting them almost feels like a necessity~! I go quite often and LOVE it.

    Your apple crumble looks delicious and so does the pottery dish holding the crumble.

  7. Your farmer’s market sounds awesome!! You’re so lucky to have such a great one close by. The dish is gorgeous and your crumble looks yummy in it 🙂

  8. I’m so jealous of your farmer’s market, it sounds amazing! And that dish is just beautiful. Your crisp looks delicious!

  9. I love your baking dish. Mine was baked in a boring Pyrex dish. I’ve got to get a couple of nice baking dishes.

    Those brussel sprouts look wonderful. We just had them for dinner tonight. Roasted on top of the stove with balsamic vinegar and nuts. Even hubby, who’s not a big brussel sprouts eater, said they were good.

  10. wow. This looks really good. I do think that the links work. Great job on figuring it out!

  11. I wasn’t successful searching for Jan on Etsy’s entry page. I Googled “Jan Fairhurst potter” and that took me to her tempting Etsy page. Go figure. Lots to tempt anyone baking a pie or casserole.

  12. I want to know what vegetables will counter all the yummy SM goodies you are making. I am so glad there is an Etsy and will be looking up Jan Fairhurst. I love your pie pan’s fluted edge. If you like lighter pottery with a Japanese influence check out Virginia’s Becky Garrity (garritypottery.com). I have been collecting her work the last 10 years. She is a friend and amazing potter.

    • I will check out Becky’s site; I love collecting different pieces from the potters you find at craft shows.


Leave a Reply

Categories

