Posted by: Patty | September 27, 2009

Sweet Melissa Sundays – the Savory Muffins

This week’s recipe is being hosted by Hanaas Kitchen: http://HanaasKitchen.blogspot.com/ . For a change of pace we are baking savory muffins  instead of something sweet. Melissa lists four different versions and we are doing the caramelized onion, sage and cheddar cheese muffins.

Of course I decided to change things a bit: instead of onions I decided to use shallots.

IMG_0577I sliced them and sautéed them with a small amount of butter and a misting of olive oil.

IMG_0578I was trying to brown the shallots without getting them too wet. Then I refrigerated them until I could get to making the batter. When I went to my garden to pick the sage I discovered that some animal or bug had been there before me and almost all my sage was gone. What bug eats sage?! So I used a combination of what was in the garden: chives, a little sage and some marjoram. For the cheese I chose a white cheddar. The batter is a breeze to make, you don’t need a mixer.

IMG_0586For the pan I used my silicone muffin cups. I love them! You don’t need a cupcake pan and the muffins pop right out.

IMG_0588There were 12 muffins but my husband devoured one as soon as they came out of the oven. I was worried that the shallots would be too moist in the muffin but the balance was just right. These do have a kick from the cayenne pepper; I might reduce the 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne to 1/8 teaspoon next time I bake this recipe . They are perfect to serve with soup.

IMG_0589

For anyone who has leftover onions I have a favorite panini recipe: 2 slices of bread (sourdough or country style), 1 Tablespoon grainy dijon mustard, 2 – 3 slices gruyére cheese, 3 – 4 very thin slices granny smith apple 2 Tablespoons caramelized onions. Spread the bread with mustard, layer cheese, apples, onions and more cheese, grill in a panini press. Or, just sauté in a fry pan. Yum!

Good new, I have a training session scheduled at the Apple store this week and we are going to cover blogging. Maybe I will know how to hyperlink by next Sunday.

Have a great week, Patty

Responses

  1. Your muffins look great, and that panini recipe sounds amazing! We go through panini phases at our house. Once the panini maker is out on the counter, I swear we use it every day for 2 weeks!

  2. Mmmm…I love marjoram! I’ve never seen silicone muffin cups…very interesting. I’m learning so much by participating with the SMS bakers. Good luck with re-growing your sage.

    Raeann

  3. Your muffins look good! I like that you used shallots. I think I will get some of those silicone muffin cups. I’ve always wanted to try them. Silly me, I didn’t realize you didn’t have to use a muffin pan with them!
    Also, I never heard of any bugs liking sage. I plant herbs around the perimeter of my garden to keep the bunnies out. I don’t think they like the smell.

  4. Love the panini idea and the use of your silcone cups. I have several and keep forgetting about them. Your muffins sound delicious with the flavor combination you used…very nice!

  5. Your muffins look perfect! I have some silicone muffin cups but I never remember to use them. I really should make a point to make better use of them! Thanks for the panini recipe – it sounds yummy!

  6. Your muffins look great! I had issues with deer in my garden. Deer and crows! These were my first savory muffin and I loved them.

  7. Btw, your panini idea is great! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Your muffins look wonderful. What a great idea to use shallots. They’re a little milder than onions. I changed the recipe a bit too, using red onions, garlic, and double the amount of cayenne. They were delicious. I’m glad you and your hubby liked them. Thanks again for baking with me this week!

  9. Your muffins look great, and your substitutions sound really yummy! How great that you posted a recipe for leftover onions, so thoughtful!

  10. oh YUM. the panini sounds wonderful. I actually get paninis on campus and they’re just so yummy. Tuna panini’s my fave!

  11. Patty: Those look so good!! Now I am wishing I had made them. Love your combination of herbs and cheese. Do rabbits like sage? I always have issues with rabbits in my garden!


Leave a Reply

Categories

