Posted by: Patty | February 5, 2013

TWD Focaccia

Imagine being asked to cook one of your signature dishes for Julia Child, in her own kitchen. The cookbook “Baking with Julia” is a collection of recipes prepared by those lucky chefs featured on a PBS show filmed in Julia’s kitchen. Our  baker this week is Craig Kominiak.  After 5 years as a Navy cook, Craig joined the Culinary Institute of America where he discovered his love for the pastry arts. When he baked with Julia he was the executive chef for the bakery Ecce Panis in NYC.

Craig’s recipe has a long, cold rise, you must start the dough 24 hours before you want to bake it. Its a simple dough, just flour, yeast, olive oil, salt and water. My 7 quart KitchenAid mixer kneaded the dough without any struggle. I did not increase the speed to medium high as instructed in the recipe because the KA instructions are very clear: never knead dough above speed 2.

KitchenAid 7 quart

I tried 2 different breads with the dough. One was the Leaf Shaped Fougasse  on page 146:

leaf fougasse

and the other was focaccia with onion, rosemary and blue cheese, some of my favorite toppings for flat bread.

focaccia

The breads were delicious but neither achieved much height. Other focaccia that I’ve baked have been softer and thicker. These were good but I think there are better recipes.

Another baking project this week was making the cheddar swirl breakfast buns from Deb Perelman’s new cookbook, “Smitten Kitchen“. These were easy to make and perfect with soup. And they were still tasty the next day.

cheddar rolls

And if you are looking for a good winter soup this one from Food52 is a winner: Minestrone.

soup

For today’s focaccia recipe you can visit Wandering Through. Sharmini will have the complete recipe.

Enjoy baking, cheers, Patty

Responses

  1. I love all your treats – your leaf fougasse is especially beautiful!

  2. I love the idea of using blue cheese! YUM! Both of them look really great.

  3. I thought of making a fougasse, but that is far is it got! Wish I had after seeing this. Oh well. Beautiful! The soup looks delish as well.

  4. I was thinking of making a fougasse with one piece of dough but didn’t get there. Yours looks great. Your focaccia toppings sound delicious.

  5. Good gravy! Everything looks awesome!! Great job on all. Love the fougasse….so pretty. And now I’m thinking I need those breakfast buns in my life!!

  6. Now I’m hungry for those rolls, and I wish I had the Smitten Kitchen book (new year resolution not to buy cook books this year..) Your focaccia and fougasse both look great!

    • I’m trying to cut down on cookbooks too. Try your library; here in DC there is a great selection of newly released books. After I’ve had a book home for a while I seem to get over my need to buy it!

  7. Beautiful food here! I’m going to have to try those rolls. They’d be great for breakfast! I agree with you about the focaccia–there are better recipes out there.

    • The cheddar rolls are definitely worth making.

  8. I’m impressed with your Leaf Shaped Fougasse…lovely.

    Carmen of Baking is my Zen – Focaccia on savory blog, sometimes SAVORY

    http://sometimessavory.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/twd-baking-with-julia-focaccia-with-thyme/

  9. I agree that there are better focaccia recipes out there. This one just didn’t have the softness or the puffiness I was looking for. It was good to try it though! And yours did come out looking pretty tasty! Nice job!

  10. I am looking forward to trying other focaccia recipes too since I have got my toe wet with this one.
    Thanks for baking along this week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

